Winners of the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction 2005-1917

brought to you by
The Nobel Prize Internet Archive
[See also Nobel Literature Laureates | Booker Winners ]

The Pulitzer Prizes for journalism, literature, music and drama were established by the 1904 will of Joseph Pulitzer, a 19th century journalist. Administered by the Columbia School of Journalism, the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction is awarded "for distinguished fiction by an American author, preferably dealing with American life." Each winner receives a gold medal as well as a cash award of $10,000 (raised in 2003 from $7500). Many Pulitzer Prize Winners go on to receive other literary awards such as the Nobel Prize in Literature. Not to be outdone, the United Kingdom literary elite has their own award, Booker Prizer for Fiction, for citizens of the Commonwealth or Republic of Ireland.

2005	Gilead: A Novel by Marilynne Robinson
2004	The Known World by Edward P. Jones 
2003	Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides 
2002	Empire Falls by Richard Russo 
2001	The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon 
2000	Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri 
1999	The Hours by Michael Cunningham 
1998	American Pastoral by Philip Roth 
1997	Martin Dressler: The Tale of an American Dreamer by Steven Millhauser 
1996	Independence Day by Richard Ford 
1995	The Stone Diaries by Carol Shields 
1994	The Shipping News by E. Annie Proulx 
1993	A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain by Robert Olen Butler 
1992	A Thousand Acres by Jane Smiley 
1991	Rabbit At Rest by John Updike 
1990	The Mambo Kings Play Songs of Love by Oscar Hijuelos 
1989	Breathing Lessons by Anne Tyler 
1988	Beloved by Toni Morrison 
1987	A Summons to Memphis by Peter Taylor 
1986	Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry 
1985	Foreign Affairs by Alison Lurie 
1984	Ironweed by William Kennedy 
1983	The Color Purple by Alice Walker 
1982	Rabbit Is Rich by John Updike, the latest novel in a memorable sequence
1981	A Confederacy of Dunces by the late John Kennedy Toole (a posthumous publication) 
1980	The Executioner's Song by Norman Mailer 
1979	The Stories of John Cheever by John Cheever 
1978	Elbow Room by James Alan McPherson 
1977	(No Award)
1976	Humboldt's Gift by Saul Bellow 
1975	The Killer Angels by Michael Shaara 
1974	(No Award)
1973	The Optimist's Daughter by Eudora Welty 
1972	Angle of Repose by Wallace Stegner 
1971	(No Award)
1970	Collected Stories by Jean Stafford 
1969	House Made of Dawn by N. Scott Momaday 
1968	The Confessions of Nat Turner by William Styron 
1967	The Fixer by Bernard Malamud 
1966	Collected Stories by Katherine Anne Porter 
1965	The Keepers Of The House by Shirley Ann Grau 
1964	(No Award)
1963	The Reivers by William Faulkner
1962	The Edge of Sadness by Edwin O'Connor 
1961	To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee 
1960	Advise and Consent by Allen Drury 
1959	The Travels of Jaimie McPheeters by Robert Lewis Taylor 
1958	A Death In The Family by the late James Agee (a posthumous publication)
1957	(No Award)
1956	Andersonville by MacKinlay Kantor 
1955	A Fable by William Faulkner
1954	(No Award)
1953	The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway
1952	The Caine Mutiny by Herman Wouk 
1951	The Town by Conrad Richter 
1950	The Way West by A. B. Guthrie, Jr. 
1949	Guard of Honor by James Gould Cozzens 
1948	Tales of the South Pacific by James A. Michener 

(From 1917-1948, the award was given as the Pulitzer Prizer for Novel)
1947	All the King's Men by Robert Penn Warren 
1946    (No Award)
1945	A Bell for Adano by John Hersey 
1944	Journey in the Dark by Martin Flavin 
1943	Dragon's Teeth by Upton Sinclair 
1942	In This Our Life by Ellen Glasgow 
1941	(No Award)
1940	The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck
1939	The Yearling by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings 
1938	The Late George Apley by John Phillips Marquand 
1937	Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell 
1936	Honey in the Horn by Harold L. Davis 
1935	Now in November by Josephine Winslow Johnson 
1934	Lamb in His Bosom by Caroline Miller 
1933	The Store by T. S. Stribling 
1932	The Good Earth by Pearl S. Buck
1931	Years of Grace by Margaret Ayer Barnes 
1930	Laughing Boy by Oliver Lafarge 
1929	Scarlet Sister Mary by Julia Peterkin 
1928	The Bridge of San Luis Rey by Thornton Wilder 
1927	Early Autumn by Louis Bromfield 
1926	Arrowsmith by Sinclair Lewis
1925	So Big by Edna Ferber 
1924	The Able McLaughlins by Margaret Wilson 
1923	One of Ours by Willa Cather 
1922	Alice Adams by Booth Tarkington 
1921	The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton 
1920	(No Award)
1919	The Magnificent Ambersons by Booth Tarkington 
1918	His Family by Ernest Poole 
1917    (No Award)

[ Back to The Nobel Prize Internet Archive ]
[ Literature * Peace * Chemistry * Physics * Economics * Medicine ]
Become a Sponsor of the Nobel Prize Internet Archive!
We always welcome your feedback and comments.
Copyright © 1996-2003 Ona Wu. All rights reserved.